Punya “madhumangal” Prabha wins the Championship Event for IN₹ 10,44,567

After 10.5+ hours of play, Punya “madhumangal” Prabha outlasted the 285 entry field to be crowned the newest APT Championship Event winner. Prabha eliminated three final table players with the defining axe coming down on runner up Karan “Apocalypto” Radia. For his superb victory, Prabha collected IN₹ 10,44,567 (ICM deal payout) and took home both the APT Championship Event Trophy and APT Championship Ring.

This was Prabha’s first major APT title and second win. He also shipped the day’s PLO-5 event to become the first player to bag two events in this series. You can read up on the action via the Live Updates

Date: February 3
Buy in: IN₹ 22,000 (~US$ 295)
Guarantee: IN₹ 50L (~US$ 66,688)
Entries: 285 (157 uniques, 128 re-entries)
Prize pool: IN₹ 57,00,000 (~US$ 76,000)
ITM: 36 places 

The APT India Online Series 2022  completed its fifth day at partner PokerBaazi.com. The Championship Event was the day’s featured six max tournament  which attracted 157 players plus 128 re-entries for 285 total entries. With buy in at IN₹ 22,000 each, it drove northward past the 50L guarantee for a final IN₹ 57,00,000 (~US$ 76,000) prize pool. Halfway through the sixth hour of play, the bubble burst on Mishun “thepokeraja” Mahesh when his 7 7 ran into Ujjwal “Mr_Robot” Narwal 9 9

With the money flowing, players dropped fast. Among those that cashed were Anmol “anzzzzz” Mehta (32nd), Abhishek “singhsaab” Goindi (28th), Arjanveer “holdbaby” Singh (25th), and Raghav “thatssosick” Bansal (19th). For Armaan “armaan007” Kochhar, his aggressive hunt saw him in command for quite some time however a failed bluff against Narwal crippled him and eventually ran empty in 15th place. 

Leading up to the final table, Sahil “bluffme19” Chutani exited 13th, Ashish “rocky3705” Ahuja finished 12th then went on to bag APT #27: 6-Max Turbo, Narwal missed the final table by one spot falling in 7th place to Kartik “TheInternetKid” Ved with A 9 dominated by A A. Ved entered the final table as chip leader. 

Ten minutes in, the first all in showdown saw Karan “Apocalypto” Radia double up through the leader Ved. Not only did Ved lose his high status, he dropped further in a losing battle of the blinds against Nishant “rektace” Kumar. Ved’s fall continued to bust out in 6th place with A J dominated by Punya “madhumangal” Prabha’s A K

Race to victory

With the added chips, Prabha took charge, sending Kumar to the rails next with Q Q dusting A 7. He proceeded to pressure the remaining three players and amassed well over half the chips in play in a winning hand against Haider “Haider” Madraswala. Down in chips, Madraswala eventually bowed out in 4th place with Gautam “M8a7” Rohilla cleaning him out. 

The three handed round saw the rise of Radia who cleaned out Rohilla in two all in clashes. This brought about heads up. Prabha was ahead in the count against Radia. A few minutes in, Radia overtook and the pair struck an ICM deal. The next fifteen minutes saw the chip lead bounce back to Prabha which he held to seize the title, the APT Championship Event Trophy, and APT Championship Ring. The final hand was Prabha 7 7 defeating Radia’s A 8 overcards on a board 6 4 10 3 4. Congratulations to the champion!

Final table payouts

1st Punya “madhumangal” Prabha – IN₹ 10,44,567 (deal reached)
2nd Karan “Apocalypto” Radia – IN₹ 10,98,000 (deal reached)
3rd Gautam “M8a7” Rohilla –  IN₹ 5,68,000 
4th Haider “Haider” Madraswala –  IN₹  4,21,000
5th Nishant “rektace” Kumar –  IN₹ 3,16,000 
6th Kartik “TheInternetKid” Ved –  IN₹ 2,53,000