Main Event Begins, On Pace to Break Another Cebu Record

The main event of the APT Asian Series Cebu 2014 started play Saturday, February 16th at the All-In Poker Club in Cebu, Philippines. Just like the promise of the first three days, the tournament attracted a very healthy number of players and now on pace to break yet another APT record in the Queen City of the South.

A total of 131 entries signed up for Day 1A of the main event with a PHP 50,000 buy-in and part of the field were some notable players in the Asian poker scene including the most recent champions in the APT.

Shooting for another APT title are 2012 and 2013 APT Player of the Year Samad Razavi from England; 2013 APT POY runner up Maria Carmen Esdaile (Philippines); 2013 Asian Series Manila champion Jav Medina (Philippines); and 2012 APT Macau Main Event champion Carlos Chang (Chinese-Taipei).

Michael Falcon (Denmark), Richard Marquez (Philippines), Iori Yogo (Japan), Kosei Ichinose (Japan), Mandeep Narang (India), Kristian Faering (Denmark) and Bryan Huang (Singapore) among many other notable players were also part of the field.

Registration was still open as of press time which means the total number of runners will still climb for Day 1A. The Cebu record was set in 2012 when 251 players signed up for the main event.

Meanwhile, the trio of champions on Friday was honored on-stage as they were presented their trophies namely Kosei Ichinose who took down the High Rollers title; Hazel Yuen Shan Chui from Hong Kong won the Ladies of Poker crown; and Falcon of Denmark was victorious in the Head Hunter event.

Trophy awarded to the High Rollers Champion, Kosei Ichinose

Ladies of Poker Champion, Hazel Chui

Trophy awarded to the DafaPoker Head Hunter Champion, Michael Falcon

Who will gain the chip lead after Day 1A of the APT Asian Series Cebu 2014 Main Event? Check back later for updates of today’s main event action.