Ang Boon Seng bags chip lead at Main Event Day 1B; Amanpreet Singh wins the NLH Single Day

The APT Finale Philippines 2018 was buzzing all day with MAIN EVENT Day 1B drawing 169 runners to Resorts World Manila. With the added 95 runners of Day 1A, the 10M guarantee was more than dusted. We will have the official numbers for you tomorrow. 

At bagging time, 103 survived the day’s trials with Singapore’s Ang Boon Seng as the main man on top. Seng amassed 158,900 earning him the overall chip lead entering Day 2.

Day 2 Chip Counts

Ang Boon Seng

At the last level of the day, Seng was already backed by a big stack and grew further after eliminating Russia’s Valeriy Pak. The hand saw all the chips go in on a turn Q 10 10 2. Pak three-bet all in with J 10 trips, Seng snap-called with Q 10 full house. The river 6 was of no consequence with Pak drawing dead. 

Closing the day second in chips was Japan’s Takao Shimizu with 114,800. Rounding out the top three was MSW Ambassador, Anton Del Rosario with 96,800. 

Anton Del Rosario

One player making his second bullet count today was series defending champion Lester Edoc. Edoc busted halfway through the day but quickly re-entered and held on to bag a sizable 88,800 stack. Another APT champion through was Joven Huerto who doubled up during the last hands called with pocket kings over ace-king. He bagged up 65,400. 

Edoc and Huerto were also joined by fellow APT winners Hisashi Ogi, Alexis Lim, and two-time champion / WSOP bracelet winner Mike Takayama. As for John Tech and Iori Yogo they survived but with chips way below starting stack.  

Among those that attended but were unable to pull through were Czardy Rivera, Cao Ngoc Anh, Pham Bao, Joshua Chargualaf, Yoichi Uesugi, and Inaki Santos. Luckily they can still jump in on Day 2. 

Main Event resumes at 1pm on Friday, November 30. Registration stays open for one hour and will close at the start of Level 10. A total of 149 players advanced from the starting days. 

Amanpreet Singh wins first-ever APT trophy

India’s Amanpreet Singh lifted his first-ever APT trophy at the NLH Single Day (shot clock) event. Singh bested a field of 66 runners and earned the PHP 273,300 first place prize money. 

Amanpreet Singh

This was the first event of the series that implemented the shot clock. Action was doubly fast with the blinds escalating every 20 minutes. The bubble burst with Graham Cowan delivering a rough blow to Aso Seitaro.  Cowan’s K 10 formed a one card flush Q 5 4 4 3 to defeat J J

Bubble bursts!

From there, bust outs were quick and heads up was reached after the fall of Henrik Tollefsen in 3rd place. The final race began with Ming Ken Thoo ahead in chips but Singh quickly doubled up with A-K over Q-J.

Ming reclaimed the lead on a double up with A-4 trips over Q-8 but two successful shoves later, Singh rose to victory with his final hand 10 9 straight over 9 9 on a board that ran Q 2 K J 7

1st Amanpreet Singh – India – PHP 273,300
2nd Ming Ken Thoo – Malaysia – PHP 182,200
3rd Henrik Tollefsen – Norway – PHP 127,200
4th Mikael Anderson – PHP 92,600
5th Lim Yohwan – Korea – PHP 70,000
6th Graham Cowan – Australia – PHP 54,700
7th Lee Kwangwoo – Korea – PHP 44,100
8th Nanami Murata – Japan – PHP 36,400
9th Rex Clinkscales – PHP 30,900
10th Tanaka Taishi – Japan – PHP 26,400
11th Kee Kian Sim – PHP 22,500