Mike Takayama wins the Head Hunter; knocks out six of the final 8

The second trophy winner of APT Taiwan 2019 emerged this afternoon at the Chinese Texas Hold’em Poker Association (CTP Club). Filipino pro Mike Takayama crushed the final table competition of the Head Hunter event eliminating six of the final 8 players. He shipped TWD 159,800 (~USD 5,200) and a total of 12 bounties worth TWD 2,000 each. He is now running third in the APT Player of the Series race. 

The Head Hunter event was a two-day affair that saw 75 gunners in the field. For a price of TWD 11,000 (~USD 360) each, it created a prize pool worth TWD 727,500 (~USD 23,700) of which 13 were guaranteed a cut. 

Day 1 closed at the fall of short-stacked Jinhyo Yoo at the hands of Mike Takayama. Yoo’s 5 5 was cracked by Takayama’s 7 6 when a six showed up on the turn. This formed the final 8 players with Takayama out front. Running second in chips was another known pro, Singapore’s Wilson Lim (seat 4). 

The Final 8 ran a steady four hours today. During the opening hour, Lee Chang Gon (seat 7) became the first of Takayama’s victims falling in 8th place. Another hour in, Long Ip Seng (seat 6) followed with Q-4 losing to Takayama’s Q-J on a board 2-3-3-4-J

Shortly after, a three-way shove saw Frederik Kerckhof (seat 2) triple up and Ma Chun Yu (seat 1) drop to Takayama. First to shove was Yu A 4, shortest stacked Kerckhof followed with A 10, and big stacked Takayama called with A 7. The board ran J Q 6 2 10

At five-handed, short stacked Kan Ming Zhou (seat 5) doubled up through Wilson Lim (seat 4) then lost a large portion of it to Hie Zong Chi (seat 8). With only 2 bbs left, Zhou was booted by Takayama in 5th place for his fourth victim. 

Several hands after, Lim joined the rail. He pushed with 10 10 and was outdrawn by Kerckhof’s A Q when an ace graced the board. This left three players, but quickly two at the fall of Hie whose A J could not defeat Takayama’s 10 10. Heads up followed with Takayama ahead 2.5:1.

It didn’t take long for the axe to swing. The final hand was Takayama Q 7, Kerckhof 9 6, the board ran dry 4 5 K A A to end the game and Takayama lift the trophy. 

Final 8 payouts
1st Mike Takayama – Philippines – TWD 159,800
2nd Frederik Kerckhof – Belgium – TWD 106,700
3rd Hie Zong Chi – China – TWD 74,200
4th Wilson Lim – Singapore – TWD 53,600 
5th Kan Ming Zhou – Singapore – TWD 40,100
6th Ma Chun Yu – China – TWD 30,900
7th Long Ip Seng – China – TWD 24,500
8th Lee Chang Gon – Korea – TWD 20,000

Complete payouts

For all players that cashed, make sure to check your standing in the APT Player of the Series race. 

APT Player of the Series standings

  • APT and KMGM Extend Partnership for 2020


    Asian Poker Tour (APT) and Korean Mind Game Members (KMGM) have signed a new agreement to extend its partnership until the end of 2020.  With this, KMGM’s CEO, Lee Seok Young, known as Tiger, has confirmed attendance of at least... Read more

  • APT Taiwan Confirmed


    The Asian Poker Tour (APT) has announced that its next event to be staged 4-15 March 2020 in Taipei, Taiwan will move forward. Making the announcement Jeff Mann, Chief Executive Officer of APT, said that given the current status of... Read more

  • Natural8 Main Event Satellites to APT Taiwan 2020


    Natural8 will be running special online satellites to the upcoming APT Taiwan 2020 with four (4) Main Event Seats GUARANTEED! Players now have a chance to win a Main Event Seat worth US$1,000 from a buy-in of only US$180! The... Read more

  • Asian Poker Tour Boosts Guarantee to US$ 1 Million for APT Philippines 2020


    Coming April 27 to May 10, the Asian Poker Tour brings the region its richest festival of the season. For the first time, a 14-day series is planned for APT Philippines with larger guaranteed prize pools amounting to US$ 1... Read more

  • APT Kick-Off Vietnam: final festival wrap, last side winners, and Tanja Vujanic for Player of the Series


    After 12 days of nonstop poker running from January 10 to 21, the Asian Poker Tour wrapped up another fun-filled series at partner venue Pro Poker Club. The 25-event schedule of APT Kick-Off Vietnam was the tour’s first for the 2020 calendar season. 41... Read more

  • Harry Duong wins second APT championship title; Terry Nguyen runner-up


    After 177 final day hands, the first Asian Poker Tour CHAMPIONSHIPS EVENT winner of 2020 emerged! Harry Duong made the host country proud by overcoming a loaded final table to secure his career second APT championship title and VND 1,330,000,000 (~US$ 57,400).  The Championships... Read more