Final wrap: Inotsume Kazuma wins Player of the Series, Highlights, last event winners

And that’s a wrap! The APT Korea Incheon Championships 2018 is in the books!

Nonstop poker action took place from August 8 to August 19 at the luxurious Paradise City casino with players from various parts of the world taking part in the festivities. 21 countries were represented with 1625 total entries for a grand prize pool of around ₩980,000,000.

The Japanese contingent came out in full force, dominating the events not just in numbers but also in awards with 13 trophies claimed. We’ve got all the highlights for you below including the festival’s last four trophy winners. Congratulations to all the winners! 

Event Results

A big thank you goes out to everyone that came to support our event here in Incheon. We hope you enjoyed as much as we did hosting the event. We would also like to extend our gratitude to the staff of Paradise City for helping this event run smoothly. 

Our next stop is the APT Philippines Championships II at Resorts World Manila. Year after year, this is one of the most highly sought after events and destinations in our calendar. The festival runs from September 13 to September 24. So mark your calendars and book your accommodations. We look forward to seeing all of you there! 

APT Player of the Series winners

1st place – Inotsume Kazuma – 953.28 points

Japan’s Inotsume Kazuma didn’t win an event title however he cashed in an astounding six events which included 21st place in the Championships Event and 2nd place at the CoinPoker High Rollers. Kazuma accrued 953.28 points to win the APT Player of the Series race. He claimed the 1st place APT POS trophy, Meister watch, and US$800.

Listed below are Kazuma’s achievements:

  • 5th Welcome Event – ₩1,064,000
  • 2nd CoinPoker High Rollers – ₩21,486,000
  • 32nd Main Event – ₩1,523,000
  • 4th Super Deep Stack Turbo – ₩2,450,000
  • 9th Deep Stack Hyper Turbo – ₩246,000
  • 21st Championships Event – ₩2,654,000

2nd place – Edward Yam Chun Ho – 817.90 points

Finishing 2nd in the APT POS race was Hong Kong’s Edward Yam Chun Ho with 817.90 points. He was awarded the 2nd place APT POS trophy and US$100.

Listed below are Yam’s achievements:

  • 6th NLH Single Day 1 – ₩1,085,00
  • 2nd No Limit Hold’em 1 – ₩4,785,000
  • 10th NLH Single Day 2 – ₩746,000
  • 7th CoinPoker Single Day High Rollers – ₩4,659,000
  • 2nd – ₩2,803,000

3rd place – Lam Cheuk Nam – 812.49 points

Taking 3rd in the race was Hong Kong’s Lam Cheuk Nam with 812.49 points. He was awarded the 3rd place APT POS trophy and US$100.

Listed below are Lam’s achievements:

  • 3rd Welcome Event – ₩2,829,000
  • 6th No Limit Hold’em 1- ₩1,437,000
  • 5th No Limit Hold’em 2 – ₩2,135,000
  • 3rd Super Deep Stack Turbo – ₩2,589,000
  • 14th Championships Event – ₩3,510,000

IORI YOGO: Main Event winner

Japanese pro Iori Yogo overcame the 192-entry field of the Main Event to capture his second APT championship title and the ₩40,463,000 first prize. He joins an exclusive group of players with two major APT titles, Seung Soo Jeon, Henrik Tollefsen, Mike Takayama, Sam Nee, and Samad Razavi. Buyin for the event was ₩1,100,000 for a prize pool of ₩186,240,000.

Iori Yogo

JAEPIL YOU: Championships Event winner

APT newcomer, USA’s Jaepil You rose to victory at the Championships Event topping the 148 runners to pocket the  ₩49,770,000 first prize. Buyin for the event was ₩1,650,000 for a prize pool of ₩215,430,000. You earned the single largest payout of the festival.

Jaepil You

MASATO YOKOSAWA: CoinPoker Super High Rollers winner

The CoinPoker Super High Rollers (Special Event) attracted 6 players to the felt, each one ponying up the ₩16,000,000 buyin. This generated a prize pool of ₩124,160,000. Japan’s Masato Yokosawa defeated USA’s Daniel Lee at heads up to collect a hefty ₩74,160,000 in winnings.

Masato Yokosawa

ERIC TSAI: CoinPoker High Rollers winner

Taiwan’s Eric Tsai won the CoinPoker High Rollers event besting a field of 57 entries to ship in the ₩32,229,000 first prize. Buyin for the event was ₩2,150,000 for a prize pool of ₩110,580,000.

Eric Tsai 

KEVIN CLARK: CoinPoker Single Day High Rollers winner

48 players signed up to the CoinPoker Single Day High Rollers with New Zealand’s Kevin Clark overcoming the numerous heavy-hitters in the field. Clark shipped in ₩28,904,000 out of the ₩93,120,000 prize pool.

Kevin Clark 

JOHN MARSHALL: Monster Stack

The Monster Stack event attracted a stellar field of 117 entries. With each buyin at ₩550,000, the prize pool amounted to ₩56,745,000. USA’s John Marshall defeated China’s Liu Qiao Nan at heads up to seize the ₩13,870,000 first prize. The final hand saw Marshall all in with 10 8 and Liu with A 7. The final board fell 8 10 Q J Q.

John Marshall

MAKOTO MIURA: Deep Stack Turbo

The Deep Stack Turbo event saw 30 players sign up with the final battle between two Japanese players, Makoto Miura and Takeuchi Kotaro. Miura grinded down his opponent then called the all in with J 9 against Kotaro’s K 8. The board ran Q Q 9 9 6 for a winning full house to Miura. He claimed the ₩2,460,000 first prize. Buyin to the event was ₩220,000 for a prize pool of ₩5,820,000.

Makoto Miura


Japan’s Kohei Kawanishi took down the only short-handed event of the series. He defeated fellow countryman Shinryo Nonin in a grueling heads up round for a well-deserved ₩3,723,000 first prize. The 6 Handed Turbo was one of the last events offered with buyin at ₩220,000 for a prize pool of ₩13,386,000.

Kohei Kawanishi

KOSAKU AKASHI: Deep Stack Hyper Turbo 2

The last event offered at the series was the Deep Stack Hyper Turbo 2 with 50 heating up the final day action. Japan’s Kosaku Akashi topped the competition to ship in the ₩2,182,000 first prize. The event had a  ₩165,000 buyin for a total prize pool of ₩7,275,000.

Kosaku Akashi

Memorable moments

The joy of reaching the money

Party time

Japan in the house! Kentaro Somekawa victory

Freeroll Flipout