Everything you need to know about the APT MAIN EVENT PHP 8 Million Guaranteed

The APT Main Event is the first featured tournament of the APT Philippines Championships 2018 and it comes with a whopping Php 8 Million Guaranteed prize pool. For the eventual champion, big prizes await including the coveted solid silver APT Championship Ring. This event is a scheduled five-day tournament running from Saturday, March 24th – Wednesday, March 28th at Resorts World Manila. Buy-in is Php55,000.

The APT Main Event is a deep-structured No Limit Hold’em tournament. Players begin with a 25,000 stack. Opening blinds are 25-50, gradually increasing every 60 minutes. Cards in the air at 1pm. Click here for the structure.

The APT Championship Ring

Day 1A – Saturday, March 24
Day 1B – Sunday, March 25

*Both starting days will play out 8 levels.

Day 2 – Monday, March 26

Late registration / re-entry is still open in Day 2 but will close at the start of Level 10. Another scheduled 8 rounds will be played in Day 2 or to the money, whichever comes first.

Day 3 – Tuesday, March 27

Play continues in Day 3 until the Final 8 is reached.

Final 8 – Wednesday, March 28

The Final 8 will stream live (30-minute delay) on the APT Twitch channel and in Chinese at the Hong Kong Poker Players Association (HKPPA) new Douyu channel.

We will also have live updates of the Main Event posted in the website.


As always, the Main Event Bubble Protection will be in effect. Ever since its introduction two years ago, it has been a mainstay at every APT festival. For players that qualify for the protection, they will be insured on the bubble round. In the event that a protected player falls as the bubble, that player will receive a consolation prize of one free seat to the next APT Main Event of the same value or the equivalent in APT tournament credits.

To qualify, players must meet these 3 simple steps:

  1. Pre-register
  2. Draw for your seat before the 1pm starting time
  3. Have your chips put into play on the first deal of Level 1

Eliminated players wanting bubble protection on the next starting day will have to qualify again.

Who to expect at the APT Philippines Championships Main Event

The first APT Philippines Championships Main Event was held last year (2017) also at RWM. There were 442 entries with Philippines pro Mike Takayama winning the event for his second major APT title. Takayama will be back to defend and joining him are other APT champions namely Samad Razavi, Jeon Seung Soo, Henkrik Tollefsen, Iori Yogo, Gerard Bringley, John Tech, Czardy Rivera, Alecz Chan, Harry Duong, SJ Kim, and Huu Dung Nguyen.

Other notable players also planning to attend are Tetsuya Tsuchikawa, Lester Edoc, Victor Chong, Alex Lee, Kai Paulsen, Michael Kim Falcon, and many others. With all of these superstars at the felt, expect nothing short of high level competition throughout as they race to the coveted title.