Tran, Funabashi, and Razavi claim side event trophies

The Asian Poker Tour Philippines III 2016 wrapped up three side events last night at Resorts World Manila. Capturing trophies were Canada’s Linh Tran at the Monster Stack, Japan’s Jun Funabashi at the No Limit Hold’em, and UK’s Samad Razavi at the Super Deep Stack Turbo.

Monster Stack results

Monster Stack Champion, Linh Tran

The Monster Stack resumed yesterday afternoon with 19 players returning to the felt. There were a t total of 110 entries for this event generating a prize pool of USD 53,350 with first place earning USD 13,610. Singapore’s Alex Lee entered the day as the massive chip leader and was joined by other notable players such as India’s Kunal Patni, Korea’s Gyeong Byeong Lee, and Japan’s Yoichi Uesugi. Although they would all find their way to the money, it was Canada’s Linh Tran that stole away with the victory defeating Japan’s Motoki Jinno at the heads up round. The final hand saw all the chips go in at the flop of 6 7 5. Tran had A Q and Jinno with A 7. The turn of J was a blank for Tran but the river Q gave him the card he needed to reign victorious.

No Limit Hold’em results

No Limit Hold’em Champion, Jun Funabashi

The No Limit Hold’em event attracted 45 players for a prize pool of USD 21,820. The first one to receive a payout was Japan’s Iori Yogo, the current leader in the APT Player of the Year 2016 race. After two more players went bust, it was a heads up match between Japan’s Jun Funabashi and USA’s Ron Manning. All it took was one hand with both players all in preflop. Manning with Q Q and Funabashi with A K. The classic coin toss saw a board run 7 J A 8 K giving Funabashi the victory.

1st Jun Funabashi – Japan – USD 8,620
2nd Ronald Manning – USA – USD 5,500
3rd Tomohiko Inoue – Japan – USD 3,300
4th Martin Montecillo – USA – USD 2,400
5th Iori Yogo – Japan – USD 2,000

Super Deep Stack Turbo results

Super Deep Stack Turbo Champion, Sam Razavi

The Super Deep Stack Turbo drew in 90 players to the felt for a prize pool of USD 26,190. Picking up his first win of the series was UK’s Samad Razavi earning USD 7,130 and the event trophy.

1st Samad Razavi – UK – USD 7,130
2nd Allan Daypuyart – Philippines – USD 4,350
3rd Regh Delos Reyes – Philippines – USD 3,150
4th Alfredo Reyes – USA – USD 2,410
5th Jeon Seung Soo – Korea – USD 2,070
6th Richard Marquez – Philippines – USD 1,790
7th Chu Chien Chun – USD 1,560
8th Fred Fauchereau – France – USD 1,370
9th Georges Chehade – Lebanon – USD 1,240
10th Kunal Patni – India – USD 1,120