Speidel Leads Heading Into APT Philippines Final Table

Oliver Speidel has again asserted his dominance on the USD $2700 APT Philippines Main Event after closing Day 3 as the chip leader. The day started with 42 players, who were all that remained from the 254 that registered for the event, and was wrapped up when we had our final table of 10 players decided.

Final Table Chip Leader: Oliver Speidel

The APT Philippines Main Event has had a Filipino champion for the last three years running in the form of 2009’s Neil Arce, 2010’s Michael Cua and 2011’s Enrique Del Prado Jr but, with only one Filipino left in the field in the form of Nicandro Filart on 224,000 in chips, the chances of the trophy remaining on home soil appear slim. Former champion Cua made a fantastic run today at snaring another title but could only finish in 18th place.

The man closest to catching Speidel is South African Divan Le Roux on 787,000. Le Roux went on a heater late in the day, eliminating both Mike Kim and Toto Leonidas before sending Binh Nguyen to the rail in the last hand of the day. Le Roux will be joined by fellow countryman Conrad Coetzer on the final table tomorrow, while one of the most recognisable faces to make it through will be that of David Steicke. However, Steicke will have a lot of work left to do as the shortest stack on the table.

The APT Philippines 2012 Final Table:
Seat 1: David Steicke (Hong Kong) 144,000
Seat 2: Antonio Martins (Portugal) 531,000
Seat 3: Adam Monaghan (Australia) 181,000
Seat 4: Franklin Acfalle (Guam) 190,000
Seat 5: Divan Le Roux (South Africa) 787,000
Seat 6: Ryan Hong (China) 250,000
Seat 7: Conrad Coetzer (South Africa) 370,000
Seat 8 Nicandro Filart (Philippines) 224,000
Seat 9: Han Wook Kim (Korea) 302,000
Seat 10: Oliver Speidel (Australia) 831,000

The APT Philippines Main Event final table starts a 2pm Wednesday, April 25 with Live Updates via Poker Portal Asia.

Latest APT Event Champions:

DafaPoker Head Hunter Champion: Wei Shyong Eric Chen

Deep Stack Turbo 3 Champion: Steve Yea