Philip Padron Makes History with Back-to-Back APT Philippines Titles

Philip Padron has just become the first player ever to win two consecutive APT titles after claiming the USD $500 APT Philippines Asian Heads Up Championship at Resorts World Manila’s Genting club last night. Padron also won the event in 2011 and this time collected USD $11,620 in prize money for his history-making achievement.

Heads Up Champion: Philip Padron

The tournament saw a field of 60 players create a USD $29,100 total prize pool, which paid eight places. It was filled with notable players such as Nam Le, McLean Karr, Allan Le, Jojo Allado, Daniel Chua, Czardy Rivera, Winfred Yu, SJ Kim, Sparrow Cheung, Julian Hasse, Justin Chan, Kai Paulsen and Bodog’s Jay Tan.

Padron went on to eliminate Daniel Francis, 2012 Aussie Millions Main Event runner-up Ken Wong, Japan’s Sekiya Yosuke, Lester Edoc and Michael Marvanek before facing Ira Blumenthal in the final best of three match.

In the long battles that followed, Padron lost the first but recovered by winning the second. He then gained the chip advantage in the third when the final hand saw the two get their money in the middle with Padron’s A J racing against Blumenthal’s 10 10. The board delivered 5 J 7 7 Q to pair Padron’s jack, give him his second APT title and prove his heads up skills are beyond doubt!

While at the Add On for Charity Event, Xiuming Huang emerged as the champion.

Add On for Charity Champion: Xiuming Huang

Check out the complete details of the Asian Poker Tour Philippines 2012