Japan’s Iori Yogo is APT-RWM 2M Guaranteed Champion

In what was the busiest day in the APT Asian Poker Series Manila 2015, two tournaments dragged on to a second day and two players were named side event champions at the Resorts Word Manila in Pasay City, Philippines.

In the APT-RWM 2M Guaranteed event, it was Japan’s Iori Yogo who won the title taking home PHP 673,200. 281 runners originally signed up in this event with 65 survivors returning for Day 2 on Wednesday.

APT-RWM 2M GTD Champion, Iori Yogo

After roughly three hours of play, the ITM bubble was burst as 36 players remained and made the money round. Iori was crowned in the wee hours of Thursday beating USA’s Nicholas Gorman in the heads-up round.

Yogo’s performance in this side event will put the Japanese closer to Sam Razavi, who finished 19th in the same event, in the APT Player of the Year 2015 standings. This is Yogo’s fifth APT title in 2015 and his 15th ITM finish this year.

Other notable pros who finished ITM in the APT-RWM 2M Guaranteed are; Ian Brion (Philippines), Timofei Levanov (Russia), Kai Paulsen (Norway), Marcuss Liow Ming Kee, Frederick Hernandez (Philippines), Anthony Gabitan (Philippines) and Tetsuya Tsuchikawa (Japan), among others.

Meanwhile, in the Ante Up for Charity event, Christopher Mateo of the Philippines bagged first place for PHP 84,000 in beating the 42-player field.

Ante Up for Charity Champion, Christopher Mateo

More importantly, a third of the prize pool, PHP 105,000 will be donated to the Feed a Child, Build a Nation School Feeding Program by the Rotary Club of Makati North. The food aid program is aimed for helping public schools in form of food aids. Last year, the APT donated a similar amount and fed up to 50 children for their entire school year.

Two other side events—the High Rollers tourney with PHP 108,000 buy-in and the NLH Multi Re-Buy + 1 Add-On event with PHP 3,300 buy-in—were also scheduled Tuesday and both needed a break as both tournaments will re-start Thursday at 1:00 PM.

45 runners joined the high-stakes tournament to create a PHP 4,365,000 prize pool with a huge PHP 1,528,000 going to the champion. 10 players remained in contention for this stop’s High Roller crown with Norway’s Markus Garberg and the Philippines’ Florencio Campomanes earning pole position entering the second and final day of the tournament.

High Rollers Final Table

Only six players will finish in the money in the high-stakes game, meaning four unfortunate souls is close to the cashing but will go home empty-handed.

High Rollers Event – Final 10 Chip Counts
Markus Garberg (Norway) – 259,500
Florencio Campomanes (Philippines) – 233,000
Andrew Gaw (Philippines) – 134,500
Titus Lee (Korea) – 116,000
Thomas Ward (New Zealand) – 93,500
Preben Stokkan (Norway) – 77,000
Mikal Blomlie (Norway)- 63,500
Stephane Blouin (Canada) – 63,500
Rache Lee – 57,500
Webster Lim Chin Wei (Malaysia) – 34,500

In the RB+AO event, 94 players registered with 78 re-buys and 59 add-ons to create a prize pool of PHP 672,200. Eight players will be returning for the second day of that event and all are already assured of at least PHP 35,100. The champion will receive the PHP 183,000.

NLH Re-Buys and Add-On Final Table

RB+AO Event – Final 8 Chip Counts
Cuong Nguyen (USA) – 252,000
Azusa Maeda (Japan) – 221,500
Camilla Samsing (Norway) – 130,500
Neo Zhi Han (Singapore) – 66,500
Nikita Staroverov (Lithuania) – 56,500
Rogelio Paca (Philippines) – 51,000
Jun Saito (Japan) – 50,500
Nicolas Noguera (France) – 42,000

Also on Thursday, two more side events are on tap; the popular Head Hunter event (PHP 16,500 buy-in) at 1:00 PM; and the Ladies of Poker event (PHP 5,500 buy-in) at 1:30 PM. Satellite tourneys to the Main Event, which begins play on Friday, are available at 3:00 PM and 6:00 PM. Check Event Schedule page for complete details.