Marvanek and Galinskas Latest Event Champions

Galinskas Claims Cebu Cup at APT Asian Series Cebu

In the APT Asian Series Cebu opening event, Lithuania’s Arnius Galinskas has reigned victorious over Filipino player, Wyngard Brillo, to capture the title of Cebu Cup 2012 Champion. He was the last man standing from 355 entrants in the PHP 5,500 buy-in tournament and takes home a first prize purse of PHP 538,900.

On the final table, Galinskas made his move at seven-handed and shoved with A 7. He was called by Teo Shi Wei who held K J with a shorter stack. The board ran 9 A 8 K 9 giving Galinskas the win as he scooped close to 600,000 in chips while sending Wei to the rail.

With A A, Galinskas then crippled Hubert Ortega’s Q 8 button shove and then got a double elimination with A 5 against Ortega’s Q 9 and Abishiek Goindi’s K K. And all it took was a spiked ace on the river.

He then eliminated Eric Chen Wei Shyong with a set of Queens over Shyong’s Q J two pair and faced Brillo in an exciting heads up match with a 2:1 advantage. After the lead chopped and changed several times, the final hand of the night saw Galinskas push all in with Q J and the severely crippled Brillo call for all his chips holding K 10. Although Brillo was ahead, the board landed 8 2 6 Q 4 giving Galinskas the Cebu Cup 2012 title.

6th Cebu Cup Champion: Arnius Galinskas

The final table payouts were:
1. Arnius Galinskas (Lithuania) PHP 538,900
2. Wyngard Brillo (Philippines) PHP 277,200
3. Eric Chen Wei Shyong (Singapore) PHP 122,200
4. Abishiek Goindi (India) PHP 87,800
5. Hubert Ortega (Philippines) PHP 70,600
6. Kang Dong Woo (Korea) PHP 53,400
7. Teo Shi Wei (Singapore) PHP 36,200
8. Mars Espera (Philippines) PHP 32,700
9. Michael Cho (Korea) PHP 31,000
10. Renato Labadan (Philippines) PHP 29,100

Michael Marvanek Wins APT Asian Series Cebu High Rollers

Michael Marvanek has clinched his first APT title after winning the PHP 108,000 buy-in APT Asian Series Cebu High Rollers. Marvanek defeated runner-up Ivan Chev Tabucal at heads up to score PHP 1,168,000 in prize money.

A field of 28 players bought into the event to create a total prize pool of PHP 2,716,000. Among those taking to the felt were Ivan Tan, Victor Chong, Brian Lovett, Cindy Wang, Florencio Campomanes, Mike Takayama, Sparrow Cheung, Mark Segal and Team PokerStars Pro Bryan Huang.

High Rollers Champion: Michael Marvanek

In the final hand of the night, Marvanek and Tabucal saw a flop of J 5 9. Marvanek quickly check-called a bet of 7000 and then another of 20,000 on the turn 2. On the river 2 Tabucal shoved for around 130,000 and Marvanek tanked before making the call with 9 3, which gave him the title over Tabucal’s 6 6.

The APT Asian Series Cebu Main Event Day 1A starts today at 1pm local time. Check out the complete Event Schedule.