Dylan Gibson leads Day 1a of the Main Event; Faering owns the OFC Pineapple Shootout

While the sun came out to play, so did 25 runners for Day 1a of the APT Cambodia 2016 Main Event each one coughing up the $1,100 entry fee. After eight hours of chips shuffling around the poker room of the Queenco Hotel & Casino in Sihanoukville, Cambodia, there were 15 players left in the field and will advance to Day 2 on Monday.

Main Event Day 1A Chip Leader, Dylan Gibson

Leading the survivors was Englishman Dylan Gibson bagging up the largest stack of 54,300 chips. Gibson earned a big pot with his kicker in play during a hand with his ace-ten landing trip tens on the board against a player with queen-ten. Coming in second-in-rank was one of the country’s own, Vietnam’s Kim Lay Ly with 51,375 chips. Rounding out the top three was Australia’s Daniel Tan with 48,000 chips.

There was quite a mixed bag of players who survived the day, one of whom was the APT Player of the Year 2016 front runner, Japan’s Iori Yogo, who already has a trophy in this festival having won the Opening Event. Another festival trophy winner who also made it through was Japanese player Masaharu Oyama, capturing the Head Hunter event last night.

Here is a list of the Day 1a survivors:
Dylan Gibson – England – 54,300
Kim Lay Ly – Vietnam – 51,375
Daniel Tan – Australia – 48,000
Parisel – France – 46,250
Ancle – Vietnam – 46,250
Cheng Xin Jin (Nick) – Singapore – 45,520
Michael Kim Falcon – Denmark – 36,250
Iori Yogo – Japan – 30,425
Takashi Hirakawa – Japan – 25,425
Justin Worth – Australia – 24,825
Iksanan Ayrai – Malaysia – 22,150
Kai Paulsen – Norway – 21,700
Nguyen Viet Hung – Vietnam – 19,475
Masaharu Oyama – Japan – 14,250
Nguyen Chi Thinh – Vietnam – 14,100

Open Face Chinese Pineapple Shootout recap

OFC Pineapple Shootout Champion, Kristian Faering

At the Open Face Chinese Pineapple Shootout event, there were 8 players who took to the felt. Among them was Eduard Sato, Ron Tate, and yesterday’s High Roller OFC Pineapple winner UK’s Samad Razavi.All of them would bow down to Denmark’s Kristian Faering who earlier in the day announced in his facebook page that the event was his to win. And win he did. During the final match up, Faering faced off against USA’s Benjamin Lizza and Germany’s Mike Gartner but were no match for Faering’s skill. He swept away with the title, the cash prize, and the event trophy (which apparently already had a special spot reserved in his suitcase).

OFC Pineapple Shootout payouts
Entries: 8
Buy-in $220
Prize Pool: $1,940
1st Kristian Faering – Denmark – $970
2nd Benjamin Lizza – USA – $580
3rd Mike Gartner – Germany – $390