Divan Le Roux Wins APT Philippines Main Event

From a field of 254 players, South African Divan Le Roux has triumphed in the APT Philippines USD $2700 Main Event at Resorts World Manila’s Genting Club. Le Roux picks up USD $197,000 in prize money after defeating fellow South African Conrad Coetzer in a thrilling heads up contest.

Main Event Champion: Divan Le Roux

The final table started with overnight chip leader Oliver Speidel doing most of the work and eliminating several players in the form of Adam Monaghan, David Steicke and Antonio Martins. Le Roux then busted Guam’s Franklin Acfalle before Speidel went on to end the three-year dominance of Filipino players on the APT Philippines title when he railed the home country’s last hope of Nicandro Filart in 6th place.

However, after Han Wook Kim exited in 5th place, Speidel’s reign of terror on the final table ended when he lost race holding A J against Conrad Coetzer’s 6 6. He was then crippled to just 25,000 left in chips before Le Roux administered the final blow.

APT Philippines 2012 Main Event Final Table

With China’s Ryan Hong’s departure in 3rd, the two South Africans entered heads up with Le Roux as the shorter stack on 1.44 million against Coetzer’s 2.37 million. The lead swung back and forth several times before the final hand saw Le Roux’s A J up against Coetzer’s Q 9 with all the money in preflop and a board of J 8 6 7 4 give the title to Le Roux.

Final table payouts:
1st Divan Le Roux USD $197,000
2nd Conrad Coetzer USD $104,000
3rd Ryan Hong USD $49,000
4th Oliver Speidel USD $37,000
5th Han Wook Kim USD $30,800
6th Nicandro Filart USD $24,600
7th Franklin Acfalle USD $18,500
8th Antonio Martins USD $12,300
9th David Steicke USD $11,700
10th Adam Monaghan USD $10,450

Also taking home an APT Event Trophy from the 6 Handed Event is is Didier Cicurel…

6 Handed Champion: Didier Cicurel

Check out the Asian Poker Tour Philippines 2012 Event Results