Day 2 of the Main Event resumes with 123 gunners; Walder and Zasorin claim APT trophies

Day 2 of the Asian Poker Tour Philippines Main Event resumes at 1pm today with the 123 survivors – 55 from Day 1a and 68 from Day 1b – returning to Resorts World Manila for another eight rounds of heated poker action. Holding the torch coming into Day 2 is Malaysian player Kah Boon Teh with 219,500 chips. Teh amassed his chips at Day 1b.

Joining Teh in the upper echelon of the chip ladder is Korea’s Seung Soo Jeon with 194,500 chips. Jeon also earned his chips in Day 1b. In third is another Korean player, Changhun Lee, with 183,700 chips. Taking the fourth spot in the chip rung is Germany’s Julius Malzanini with 176,800 chips. Malzanini ended Day 1a as the chip leader. Rounding out the top five is Hong Kong’s Raiden Kan with 171,000 chips.

With a total of 180 entries in the Main Event, the prize pool amounted to $523,800 with first place looking to win a massive $133,900. A total of 18 players will earn a profit with the lowest payout at a healthy $9,700. Day 2 will resume promptly at 1pm.

Throughout the past two days, we have posted some stories on the action at the Main Event. For a read on both flights – Day 1a and Day 1b – and a look at the Chip Counts of the qualifiers, head to the Live Reporting section of the website. We will also have live updates for you on some of the action of Day 2.

Also check out some of the APT Philippines 2016 video highlights on the APT YouTube page.

Side Event Results and What’s On Deck Today

Running alongside Day 1b of the Main Event was the No Limit Hold ‘em 1 Day Event. There were 106 entries for this event bringing the prize pool to $30,850. Japan’s Iori Yogo went as deep as 4th place with Swiss player Alain Walder eliminating him with pocket nines over pocket threes. Next to fall was Guam’s Jim Bonanno in 3rd place with his 10 10 losing to Walder’s A 9 when an ace graced the board. At heads up, it was between Walder and Hong Kong’s Sparrow Cheung with Walder holding a chip advantage. In the final hand, Cheung had K Q and Walder had K Q. The board ran Q 10 8 7 6 and with his flush, Walder claimed the event trophy and the first place cash of $7,870.

Ante Only Turbo Champion, Sergey Zasorin

At the Ante Only Turbo event, there were 52 entries creating a prize pool of $7,570. The heads up round saw Korea’s Kimura Lee Jong Yeol battle it out against Ukraine’s Sergey Zasorin for the title. Zasorin built up a big chip lead and at one point had a 6:1 chip advantage. Yeol managed to double up and it was knocked down to a 3:1 chip lead but it was short-lived because on the next hand, Yeol was all in with K Q and Zasorin snap-called with A K. The board ran 9 A 7 4 J and Zasorin claimed the event trophy and the $2,100 first place cash prize.

Also be sure to check out APT for some of the exciting RFID table featured events.

There are two side event on the roster today, the Pot Limit Omaha Hi event at 2pm. This has a $440 entry fee. Then at 6pm, the Deep Stack Turbo hits the felt. Buy-in is $165.