Day 1B of the Main Event and Japan Corp 8-Max today; Jeon wins second OFC title; Razavi takes all

Good morning poker players and welcome to another action packed APT Championships Philippines 2017! The headliner today is the final entry flight to the Main Event. Day 1B will kick off promptly at 1pm with late registration closing at the start of round 7. Buy-in is USD 1,100.

Starting stack: 25,000 (500x starting big blind)
Blind duration: 60 minutes
Day 1B ends: play eight levels

Just a reminder, early birds will be eligible for our special incentive, the Main Event Bubble Protection. For players who have pre-registered, paid, and have their chips in play at the first deal of round 1, they will all be insured with bubble protection. In the event a protected player busts out as the bubble, that player will receive a consolation prize of one free seat to an APT Main Event of the same value. There were 60 players that qualified for bubble protection at Day 1A.

*Important note: Players who qualified for bubble protection in Day 1A but busted out, you will have to repeat the steps and qualify again in Day 1B in order for you to be eligible.

Yesterday, the poker room of Resorts World Manila, the host venue of the ongoing Asian Poker Tour festival saw a healthy turnout of 170 entries for Day 1A. Only 90 players advanced into Day 2 with Germany’s Andre Peh as the chip leader.

Jeon Seung Soo wins the OFC Pineapple Progressive event

OFC Pineapple Progressive Champion, Jeon Seung Soo

In addition to being one of only three players to have two APT Main Event titles under his belt, Korea’s Jeon Seung Soo also has several other APT victories to boast of including his second ever APT OFC Pineapple trophy which he claimed last night. The OFC Pineapple Progressive event saw 36 entries for a prize pool of USD 10,480. Jeon defeated Vietnam’s Bui Duc Dung at the heads up round.

1st Jeon Seung Soo – Korea – USD 3,670
2nd Bui Duc Dung – Vietnam – USD 2,420
3rd Pham Ngoc Quoc Bao – Vietnam – USD 1,570
4th Hung Sheng Lin – Chinese Taipei – USD 940
5th Winston Koh – Singapore – USD 940
6th Yuri Ishida – Japan – USD 940

Samad Razavi champions the PokerFishS SNG special event

PokerFishS SNG Winner, Sam Razavi

APT’s proud sponsors, PokerFishS, hosted a special SNG event featuring four APT top players up against four of their own. By the looks of the roster, the APT team made up of Samad Razavi, Iori Yogo, Lester Edoc, and Lim Yo Hwan seemed as if they would crush their opponents, the PokerFishS team Ada Chen, Jaden Wang, Lynn Huang, and Alex Liu. However, the match was a tough one for both sides.

The first two casualties were APT’s Edoc followed by Yo Hwan. The next three were from PokerFishS, Chen, Huang, and Wang. Then after a putting up a good solid fight, Yogo eliminated Liu leaving himself and the Razavi to slug it out for the cash prize. This was a rare moment as both players may have battled for the top of the APT POY charts the past years but actually going head-to-head was seldom seen. The heads up battle had Yogo up in chips but Razavi chipped away until they balanced up. Shortly after, one big hand changed it all with Razavi all in holding K 5 and challenged by Yogo with Q 10. The board drew blanks for both and Razavi’s king-high was good. Yogo was eliminated on the next hand and Razavi shipped in all the chips and the winner-take-all USD 2,400 prize money.

Recorded video of the SNG can be viewed at the APT Twitch channel and the APT YouTube channel.

Side Events Today

We have one side event for you today, the APT Japan Corp. 8 Max One Day Event. This event is open to everyone. Buy-in is USD 220. Cards are in the air at 2pm.

Championshisps Mega Satellite

At 6pm tonight, we will be offering our first Championships Mega Satellite with a buy-in of USD 220. This is one of three satellites offered for the upcoming USD 2,200 buy-in APT Championships featured event which starts on May 3rd. One seat awarded per ten players.

You can view the full event schedule here.