APT Manila 2017 top stories; Anthony Abram wins the APT Player of the Series

After nine days of nonstop poker running from November 6th – 14th at the Winford Hotel & Casino, the APT Manila 2017 has come to a close. Here are the festival’s biggest winners:

Main Event champion: UK’s Neil Raine

Main Event Champion, Neil Raine

The prestigious PHP 38,500 APT Main Event drew in 82 entrants for a prize pool of PHP 2,783,900 (USD 54,375). UK’s Neil Raine topped the combined starting days, topped Day 2, and then went on to destroy the competition to win the whole shebang. This is Raine’s first-ever APT event and his first tournament in Asia. He claimed the single largest first prize of the festival, the PHP 757,800 (USD 14,800), including the exclusive APT Championship Ring, and the APT Championship Trophy.

APT Player of the Series winners: Anthony Abram, Tetsuya Tsuchikawa, Svyatoslav Dvornikov

Once again the APT Player of the Series race came down to the wire and coming out on top was Australia’s Anthony Abram. Although he did not champion any of the events, he did cash in four events. Here are his impressive results:

  • 4th Main Event
  • 2nd Ante Up for Charity
  • 5th No Limit Hold’em
  • 2nd Six Handed Turbo

APT Manila 2017 POS, Anthony Abram

Abram is one of APT’s avid circuit followers. He now has seven total cashes for 2017 and earned PHP 345,400 in this series alone. Abram also qualified into the upcoming Game of Champions.

Our second place POS trophy winner was none other than the APT Player of the Year 2017 race leader, Tetsuya Tsuchikawa. He too ran well at the festival:

  • 1st Ante Up for Charity
  • 3rd at the Head Hunter
  • 4th Pot Limit Omaha Hi 1-Day
  • 3rd High Rollers

And our third place POS winner was Russia’s Svyatoslav Dvornikov. Like Abram and Tsuchikawa, he cashed in multiple events to capture the last POS trophy. Dvornikov’s results:

  • 1st Super Deep Stack Turbo
  • 5th Main Event Warm Up
  • 3rd Pot Limit Omaha Hi 1-Day
  • 4th Ante Only Turbo

Iori Yogo takes down two side events

Japanese pro Iori Yogo, the reigning APT Player of the Year champion, was the only player at the series to capture two event titles. Yogo won the Head Hunter, overcoming a field of of 47 entries, and then followed it up with another victory at the APT’s newest event, the Pot Limit Omaha Hi-Lo. Yogo also finished 4th at the WeLoveSport.com Deep Stack Turbo.

APT Game of Champions 1st time Qualifiers

With the APT Game of Champions event coming up at the end of the month, the APT Manila 2017 produced a nice bunch of first time qualifiers. All of them captured trophies at the festival.

  • Neil Raine – Main Event
  • Joon Won Lee – Main Event Warm Up
  • Yuka Asaka – Ladies of Poker
  • Kyunghoon Yoo – Pot Limit Omaha Hi 1-Day
  • Carlo Rey Calingasan – No Limit Hold’em 1-Day
  • Mark Robert Sy – Pot Limit Omaha Hi
  • Kenta Hino – WeLoveSport.com Deep Stack Turbo
  • Piet Pape – Monster Stack
  • Mike Steinbacher – MegaSportsworld Deep Stack Turbo
  • Go Mori – No Limit Hold’em
  • Yosuke Takagi – High Rollers
  • Brian Keith Mason – 6 Handed Turbo
  • Ken Okada – Deep Stack Hyper Turbo
  • Svyatoslav Dvornikov – Super Deep Stack Turbo and 3rd place APT POS

Congratulations to all the winners!

You can view all the APT Manila 2017 results in the Events & Results page and read up on all the action in our News page. For your enjoyment, we have uploaded daily highlights in the APT YouTube channel and RFID feature table games in APT Twitch tv.

Thank you to everyone that came out to support our event here in the Manila. The APT’s last event of the season is coming up in just two weeks, the APT Finale Macau Championships 2017 running for 12 days from November 29 – December 10 at the Macau Billionaire Poker in Babylon Casino.

We expect a big turnout and large prize pools starting with the APT Game of Champions USD 10,000 added! The finale will feature two major events, the HKD 11,000 Main Event and the HKD 22,000 Championships Event, a Super High Rollers (Special Event), plus of course 17 of our highly crafted side events. We hope to see all of you there!