APT Asian Series Cebu Final Table is Set

The final table of the APT Asian Series Cebu Main Event is set and leading the 10 players who will be returning tomorrow is Singapore’s Tan Tai Zheng. He sits on a massive 1,005,000 stack, followed by Bernie Ho with 885,000 chips and the rest of the pack much further behind.

Players had to deal with some tough conditions at the event, specifically the ongoing aftershocks of a 6.8 earthquake that hit central Philippines in the early afternoon. After seven hours of play, the bubble finally burst with Edwin De Jong and he was followed to the rail by Brian Lovett, Abhishek Goindi, Kim Min Soo, Wyngard Brillo and Team PokerStars Pro Bryan Huang.

Final Table Chip Leader: Tan Tai Zheng

By this time in the tournament, eventual chip leader Zheng was fluctuating between 100K-200K in chips. His first major double up happened in a hand against Bjoern Wiesler who repopped all in with A Q that ran straight into Zheng’s A A, which catapulted his stack to almost 300,000 chips. From then on, Zheng did away with the brakes.

While reigning APT Asian Series Cebu champion, Andreas Lindblom, was knocked out earlier in the day, when Michael De Leon was sent home in 13th place it ensured the title would be going to another foreigner this year and not a Filipino.

The chip counts leading into the final table are:

1. Tan Tai Zheng (Singapore) 1,005,00
2. Bernie Ho (Singapore)  885,000
3. Miika Viholainen (Finland)  386,000
4. Samad Razavi (England)  338,000
5.  Alistair Duff (Australia) 335,000
6. Tan Gay Peng (Singapore)  270,000
7. Goh Hanruo (Singapore)  222,000
8. David Evans (Australia)  144,000
9. Bjoern Wiesler (Germany) 131,000
10. Bae Han Su (Korea)  49,000

Play will resume at 3pm local time on Tuesday, February 7 and won’t stop until we have a new APT Asian Series Cebu champion.