A Mixed Bag of Nationalities Claim the Remaining APT Side Event Trophies

The Asian Poker Tour Philippines 2016 poker festival at Resorts World Manila reached its final day with many side event trophies awarded. Interestingly, all the victors came from different countries. Here’s a list of all the remaining winners:

Event 13: Monster Stack

Monster Stack Champion, Ying Lin Chua

The Monster Stack event had 135 entries with a buy-in of $770. The prize pool generated was $91,660 with 18 players seeing a profit. At four-handed, a deal was struck, and in the aftermath, Malaysia’s Ying Lin Chua finished on top, earning the first place cash of $15,910 and the event trophy.

Event 15: No Limit Hold ‘em

No Limit Hold’em Champion, Lester Edoc

The No Limit Hold ‘em event had 73 entries with a $550 buy-in fee. The prize pool amounted to $35,410 with 9 players getting paid. Coming out on top was Filipino Lester Edoc who defeated Norway’s Kai Paulsen at the heads up round. Edoc scooped the $9,820 first place money and the event trophy.

Event 16: High Rollers

High Rollers Champion, Sparrow Cheung

After settling for a second place finish at the No Limit Hold ‘em 1 Day event, Hong Kong’s Park Yu “Sparrow” Cheung returned to the APT felt with determination, in hot pursuit for a trophy. His quest was successful at the $5400 buy-in High Rollers event where he eliminated New Zealand’s Gareth Pepper at the heads up round. Sparrow bagged the first place cash prize of $28,300. There were 9 players for this event creating a prize pool of $43,600. Additionally, Sparrow also cashed at the WeLoveSport.com Deep Stack Turbo event coming in 6th place.

Event 17: Super Deep Stack Turbo

Super Deep Stack Turbo Champion, Hajime Iwakura

The newest side event to the APT Philippines 2016 roster was the Super Deep Stack Turbo event. Entry fee was $330 with 80 entries and a prize pool of $23,280. The heads up round was between Canada’s William Macauley and Japan’s Hajime Iwakura. In the end it was Iwakura who shipped it in with his 9 A winning hand against Macauley’s jack-ten.

Event 18: 6 Handed Turbo w/ Antes

6 Handed Turbo Champion, Phu Danh Nguyen

The 6-handed Turbo event saw 73 entries each contribute $220 for a prize pool of $14,160. Vietnam’s Phu Danh Nguyen eliminated Japan’s Junichi Nakagiri in 3rd place with his ace-three besting king-eight. At heads up, Nguyen faced Filipino Sam Peralta with a dominating chip lead. Peralta fought his way back and doubled up with ace-king but Nguyen took his chips back with his pocket tens holding strong against Peralta’s queen-ten. Two hands after, it was all over with Nguyen’s ace-ten two pairs defeating Peralta’s king-nine two pairs.

Event 19: Deep Stack Hyper Turbo

Deep Stack Hyper Turbo Champion, Alain Walder

The final event of the festival was the Deep Stack Hyper Turbo event with a $165 buy-in fee. There were 77 entries and a prize pool amounting to $11,200. Top APT POY players, UK’s Samad Razavi and Japan’s Iori Yogo, were among the final ten however they both burned out before the finish line. At the heads up round, it was India’s Srinivas Polishetty up against Switzerland’s Alain Walder. It didn’t take long for the trophy to be claimed with Walder’s J 10 spiking a ten on the board against Polishetty’s pocket threes. Walder claimed the first place cash of $3,050 and his second side event trophy of the festival.

Congratulations to all the winners! You can catch some of the exciting action on APT Twitch.tv and APT Youtube page.