A Look Back: APT Asian Series Manila 2014

A few days before the Asian Poker Series Manila 2015 at the Resorts World Manila in Pasay City, Philippines, we’ll take a trip down memory lane on what happened last year…

Facts/Stats from the APT Asian Series Manila 2014:


The total amount, in Philippine pesos, accumulated across all events. The biggest winners were Mike Takayama of the Philippines winning 3.453M in the main event and Feng Zhao of Singapore for 1.474M in bagging the High Rollers title.


The total number of entries across 16 events—including the Main Event, which drew 356 entries—in last year’s APT Asian Series Manila.


The number of countries represented in the APT Asian Series Manila 2014.


Total number of APT champions—main and side event– crowned last year in the 16 side events on schedule.

Dae Hoon Lim (Korea), Shetty Kunal Prabhakar (India), Bryan Huang (Singapore), Feng Zhao (Singapore), Jae Kyung Sim (Korea), Gerard Mark Bringley (Japan), Rosemarie Villamar (Philippines), Kai Danilo Paulsen (Norway), Adam Monaghan (Australia), Sj Kim (Korea), Niko Abdulrachman (Indonesia), Lim Choon Kwang (Singapore), Lin Xiao Gang (China), Ben Soon Yung Loo (Malaysia), Sang Nguyen Van (Vietnam) and Mike Takayama (Philippines) played perfect in their respective events to join the APT’s hall of champions.


The number of side event champions, each for Singapore and Korea, tied for most by a country in winning side event titles. Korea’s Dae Hoon Lim, Jae Kyung Sim and SJ Kim won over half a million pesos combined, while Singapore’s Bryan Huang, Feng Zhao and Lim Choon Kwang won over 1.7M pesos combined—thanks mainly to Zhao’s effort in the high-stakes event.


The number of new side events introduced during the APT Asian Series Manila 2014 event; the Open Face Chinese (OFC) Pineapple, the “One Time” Satellites and the Ante Only Turbo all made their debut last year. Jae Kyung Sim (Korea) and Lim Choon Kwang (Singapore) were the inaugural champions of the then green side events.

APT Asian Series Manila 2014 Main Event Champion, Mike Takayama

Takayama’s Turn

Already a very decorated and popular player in Asian poker scene, Mike Takayama finally bagged the big one by winning the APT Asian Series Manila 2014 Main Event. The Filipino pro has cashed in four other times in APT main events but none bigger than in last year’s event.

Want to be like Mike (Takayama) and finally earn your “one time”? Will the Singaporeans and Koreans dominate the side events again? Will attendance records be broken once again in the upcoming APT event?

Start booking at either Marriott Manila or Remington Hotel; learn more about the Special APT rates here.

The highly anticipated APT-RWM 2M Guaranteed opens the festivities on a Tuesday (Sept. 29) with two starting flights at 1:00 PM and 6:00 PM.  Other popular side events include the Head Hunter event (PHP 16,500 buy-in) on Oct. 1; OFC Pineapple Shootout event (PHP 11,100) on Oct. 2; and the MegaSportsWorld and WeLoveSport Deep Stack Turbo events on Oct. 4 and Oct. 5, respectively, among many other side events.

There will be three starting days in the Main Event, from Oct. 2 to 4.

The Asian Poker Series Manila 2015 is set from September 29 to October 7. Check Events Schedule page for complete details.