72 return for Day 2; Trophies awarded to Daisuki Ito and SJ Kim; PLO Hi and WLS Deep Stack today

More poker action today at the Asian Poker Tour Cebu 2016 with Day 2 of the Main Event resuming, plus two side events later in the day, the Pot Limit Omaha Hi and the WeLoveSport.com Deep Stack Turbo.

Main Event

The day begins with 72 players returning to the Main Event felt. That is exactly half the total entries of 144 – 64 from day 1a and 80 from day 1b – and they will be playing another eight rounds. The total prize pool for the Main Event came to P6,984,000 which means the top two places will be seeing a seven-digit payout with first place cashing in a sweet P1,783,000.

The overall chip leader coming into day 2 is Korea’s Kwon Ohjung with 135,200 chips which he amassed at day 1a. Second-in-rank is Filipino JC Sayo with 113,500 chips. Sayo was the chip leader at the end of day 1b. In third is the only other person to cross the the century mark with the leaders, Palau’s Ralph Kanai, with 100,800 chips.

No Limit Hold ’em 1-Day Event

No Limit Hold’em Champion, Daisuki Ito

While day 1b was running last night, there were also a couple of side events keeping other poker enthusiasts very busy. At 3pm began the No Limit Hold ’em 1-Day Event. This event had a P16,500 entry fee with 53 players battling it out. In the end, it came down to UK’s Samad Razavi up against Japan’s Daisuki Ito. The pro Razavi gave it a good fight but it was Ito who reigned victorious to claim his first-ever APT trophy.

1st Daisuki Ito – Japan – P213,400
2nd Samad Razavi – UK – P131,900
3rd Michael Kim Falcon – Denmark – P96,400
4th Julien Tran – France – P74,800
5th Masaki Nakamura – Japan – 64,800
6th Heinanen Pasi Jaakko – Finland – P56,300
7th Tetsuya Matsumura – Japan – P49,400
8th Christopher Mateo – Philippines – P44,000
9th  Henrito Acain – Philippines – P40,100

Ante Only Turbo

Ante Only Turbo Champion, SJ Kim

At the Ante Only Turbo event, there were 54 players who paid up the P5,500 entry fee, creating a prize pool of P261,900. The tables were filled with some heavy-hitters with Korea’s Soo Jo Kim ending up as the toughest to beat. Kim defeated fellow countryman Changwoo Ryu at the heads up round to claim the first place purse of P72,600 and the event trophy.

1st Soo Jo Kim – Korea -P72,600
2nd Changwoo Ryu – Korea – P44,800
3rd Lee Jongyeol – Korea – P32,700
4th Richard Marquez – Philippines _ P25,400
5th Nick Blackburn – USA – P22,000
6th Elan Zak – P19,100
7th Jang Geun Ji – Korea – P16,80
8th Paul Yu – Philippines – P14,900
9th Momoka Higa – Japan – P13,600

Side Events Today

For anyone looking to get their poker fill today, there are two side events to look forward to, the Pot Limit Omaha Hi at 3pm with a buy-in of P11,000 and the WeLoveSport.com Deep Stack Turbo at 7pm with a buy-in fee of P5,500. Both of these events are quite popular and usually turn up high numbers and attractive prize pools.

APT on Twitch Tv and YouTube

Since the final table of the APT Kickoff 2016, we have introduced the APT RFID Table. We already have a good number of videos for you to watch, just head to www.twitch.tv/asianpokertourlive. Games played on the RFID Table will be aired the following day.

You can also watch the video highlights of the APT Cebu 2016 in our YouTube page. Just click this link: APTYouTube.