47 players return for Main Event Day 2; Kai Paulsen wins the Ante Only event

Now that the two starting days have completed, we open APT Manila 2017 with Day 2 of the PHP 38,500 Main Event at Winford Hotel & Casino. On the felt at 1pm will be the 47 remaining players out of the 82 total entries.

For today’s agenda, players will battle it out another scheduled eight rounds of sixty minutes each. With the PHP 2,783,900 prize pool up on yesterday’s screens, players now know they will be gunning for the top prize money of PHP 757,800 and of course the prestigious title of APT Main Event Champion.

Coming in with the largest stack is UK’s Neil Raine who topped Day 1A with a dominating 272,600 in chips. The closest player to the leader is Japan’s Yukiko Ogasawara with 185,700 in chips. Rounding out the top three is Day 1B chip leader Filipino Anton Del Rosario with 134,100 in chips. The field will also be decorated with APT Main Event champions Iori Yogo (Japan) and Andre Moracchini (New Caledonia) both looking for a second title.

You can view the chip counts in the APT Facebook page. We will also post live updates so make sure to check this link from time to time.

Ante Only goes to Norway’s Kai Paulsen

Last night, the Ante Only Turbo event attracted 21 players and with a PHP 4,400 entry fee, this pooled in PHP 81,500. Norway’s Kai Paulsen rose to the throne after defeating Japan’s Yoichi Uesugi at the heads up round. The final hand saw the massive stacked Paulsen with K Q and Uesugi with K 7. The board ran A Q J K 5 for a winning two pair to Paulsen. He earned the PHP 35,000 first place purse, the event trophy, and a second qualifying point to the Game of Champions.

Ante Only Event Champion, Kai Paulsen

1st Kai Paulsen – Norway – PHP 35,000
2nd Yoichi Uesugi – Japan – PHP 22,000
3rd Enrique De Leon – Philippines – PHP 13,900
4th Svyatoslav Dvornikov – Russia – PHP 10,600

APT Manila 2017 update and today’s side events

The nine-day APT Manila 2017 is the Asian Poker Tour’s tenth festival of the season. The event has been ongoing since November 6th and will be running until November 14th. Eight side events have already been claimed. Among the winners were Joon Won Lee, Yuka Asaka, Yoo Kyung Hoon, and Carlo Calingasan. They’ve all qualified into the upcoming Game of Champions.

Other event winners were Iori Yogo, 2016 APT Player of the Year champion taking down two of the events, Tetsuya Tsuchikawa, current race leader of the 2017 APT POY, and Kai Paulsen winning his second APT side event title of 2017.

Game of Champions info
Game of Champions qualifiers

You can earn your way into the GOC as well by winning any of the remaining side events. Here is today’s lineup of games:

Pot Limit Omaha Hi – Buy-in PHP 7,700 at 2pm

WeLoveSport Deep Stack Turbo – Buy-in PHP4,400 at 6pm

Full APT Manila 2017 schedule