17 players race to a Main Event Final 8 berth; Lester Edoc captures his second trophy

The Asian Poker Tour resumes another action packed poker day at Resorts World Manila with APT Main Event of the APT Kickoff 2017 entering Day 3. Today will see 17 players return with Filipino pro Czardy Rivera holding the torch with the largest stack of 884K. He is trailed by Japanese player GACKT with 729K in chips. They will all be seeking a Final 8 berth. The money round begins at 10 places.

The APT Main Event attracted a total of 96 entries each one ponying up the US$1,650 entry fee. The total prize pool amounted to US$139,680 with the eventual winner looking at a sweet US$38,020 payout.

Action begins at 1pm with live reporting posted in the Live Updates section of the website.

Side Events Today

While the main is underway, there are two side events lined up. At 2pm, one of the most attractive events hits the floor, the Monster Stack with an entry fee of US$550. This event starts you off with 30,000 in chips with starting blinds at 25/50. Blinds increase every 30 minutes.

At 6pm, the Deep Stack Turbo joins the floor. Buy-in is US$110. The past two Deep Stack Turbo events had big turnouts with this one expected to attract the same.

Lester Edoc wins the WLS event for his second trophy

WLS Deep Stack Turbo Champion, Lester Edoc

The WeLoveSport Deep Stack Turbo saw 103 entries for a prize pool of US$9,990. Winning his second trophy of the festival was Filipino pro Lester Edoc, eliminating Tony Mata at the heads up round. Edoc also railed France’s Frederic Fauchereau who has several APT Deep Stack Turbo trophies under his belt. Fauchereau fell two spots shy of another title. Filipino player Julius Aldave finished in 6th place, adding another Final 8 to his impressive run at the festival.

Final 8 Payouts (18 paid)
1st Lester Edoc – Philippines – US$2,550
2ndf Tony Mata – Philippines – US$1,490
3rd Frederic Fauchereau – France – US$1,030
4th Ian Czar Marcos – Philippines – US$750
5th Paul Jeffrey Bagwell – Japan – US$620
6th Julius Aldave – Philippines – US$510
7th Steven Tenorio – UK – US$420
8th Jan Rofuli – Philippines – US$350

Links to Side Event winners:

John Tech wins NLH Welcome Event
Byun Choul Seung wins Ante Up for Charity
Lester Edoc claims the Main Event Warm-Up
Hung Sheng Lin wins the Head Hunter Event
Kai Paulsen wins the OFC Pineapple Progressive (new event) 

Wang Ping Yuan wins NLH 1 Day event
Jan Bolotaolo wins the MSW event 

You can watch the Final 8 action of selected side events in the APT Twitch channel.

Daily highlights of the ongoing festival are also available for your viewing enjoyment at the APT YouTube channel.

For the full schedule, head to the APT Kickoff 2017 event page.